My Gallbladder Surgery

It’s been a long time since I have posted, but that is because I feel behind in my studies due to a surgery mid-semester.  My gallbladder is no more.  Well it could be in a dumpster someplace.  I have no idea what they do with internals.  Hmm, that’s a good question.  What do they do with body parts after surgery?  Sure they may study them, but not all of them.

So, the night before the surgery I was starving and couldn’t eat or drink anything.  I had to be at the hospital by 6am (surgery 8am).  I was so anxious.  I barely slept.  If I recall correctly, it was less than three hours.  It was not a good look when I arrived.  I sat in the room getting prepped for surgery and my nurse was this really old, but very sweet woman.  I was meaning to ask her about Pearl Harbor.  She put my IV in and it was so painful.  First they put it in my hand.  Second, I’m not sure she saw exactly where she put it.  I had it adjusted later on.  Finally I got wheeled into pre-op, and then I woke up.  It was like tunnel vision.  Everything was dark.  I was in excruciating pain and they gave me the maximum dosage allowed for a 24 hour period and it did nothing.  I passed out.

I woke up around 1:30pm, still in pain.  It wasn’t as severe, but it was not fun.  They kept trying to get me to drink water, but I just couldn’t.  I wasn’t throwing up, but I just couldn’t stomach it.  They kept trying to get me to go to the bathroom, but I couldn’t.  Going is apparently critical because the drugs that knock you out also relax the muscle used to force out fluid when tinkling.  Long story short, for hours upon hours, and two liters of fluid, nothing.  The doctor made the decision to insert a catheter in my penis.  I jumped out of bed.  I wanted to try one last time.  A desperate move to save my penis.  After a minute of trying, I looked down at the floor and forward, letting out a big “sigh.”  I had lost that battle.  I had to face my demons.  A middle-aged woman administering French torture tactics that would make Napoleon proud.  After the most God awful burning pain I had ever experienced, I was safe to go home… with my tail between my legs…  Defeated…  Not only was I missing a part of me, I was terribly violated.  What an experience.

Leave a Reply

