Diet Issues After Gallbladder Removal

Current Weight: 309.  I was down to 304.  I’m still down 100 pounds.  Food happened.  I could finally eat, so I put on 5.

Okay, as mentioned in the last post, I started to add low-fat things.  Well a couple of weeks ago, I started to add more and more fatty things.  First it started with really lean hamburger meat cooked on the George Foreman.  Then it went to some cheeses (low-fat, fat-free). Butter popcorn was a literal addiction. I realized that if the serving size was under three grams of saturated fat, then I wasn’t having a problem.  This led to even ice cream.  Jalapeno poppers didn’t bother me either (deep-fried with cheese).  The only thing that really bothered me was alcohol.  One night I had a 22 ounce beer and I felt so drunk.  Like it was bad.  It was stagger worthy.  I had a couple of glasses of wine earlier in the week and was fine.

A week later, last night, after my final exam, I had that same beer.  I didn’t feel as drunk.  It was hitting me like normal.  Earlier in the day I had two orders of jalapeno poppers.  I didn’t have a bad response at all to them.  So I started to drink the beer, followed by popcorn, ice cream, then a grilled cheese sandwich, and a turkey sandwich.  I was drunk eating.  It all felt great.  I was full, but no immediate issues.  I decided to sit down in the living room and watch a show.  About fifteen minutes into it, I started to get the most rigid, cramping pain in my left abdomen.  It was like a pulsing spasm.  It would hit, then let up.  30 seconds later it would do the same thing.  It would continue for a few minutes then stop.  I adjusted my body and the same pain would come back.  Then it was crampy all over.  I started to get nervous.  I had never felt this before.  It was so intense.  I started feeling it in my stomach area.  I immediately went to the bedroom and put on the heating pad and passed out.

I woke up this morning and my entire midsection felt very weak and tight.  I decided to go to the doctor to get it checked out.  They wanted to make sure it wasn’t my pancreas because it sounded like it could be, and where I was having the pain is often where pancreatic pain happens.  They took six vials of blood to check various things.  I was a nervous wreck.  All of my blood work came back normal.  However, there was then a chat about the potential of it not being pancreatitis, but a flare up from the combination of fat and alcohol.  Everything I had last night were various things I had throughout the last couple weeks with no problems.  Even the day I had alcohol I had other fatty foods throughout that day.  Was it a buildup of intolerance during the week?  I have no idea.  I really don’t.  I honestly feel like throwing in the towel.  It’s really hard.  I now have an upset stomach.  I drink water and I feel like I’m going to throw-up.  This isn’t a good feeling.  I really wish they would have done a scan too, but they were convinced that there was no immediate danger because even my white blood cell count was really normal.  Apparently the pancreatic numbers are triple the normal amount during an attack.

Right now I’m at a loss.  I have no idea what is going on with my body.  Do I now have to treat my body like I did have pancreatitis?  Do I currently have it right now and it’s slowly building up?  Today I barely drank and fluids. Had some egg whites and a piece of toast.  I feel terrible.  I feel fatigued and nauseous.  Tomorrow I think I’m going to just stick with water.  It is probably the safest best.  Give myself a few days to rest.  I know people who eat absolutely whatever they want after their surgery.  I was heading in that direction.  Did I have a really bad bout of IBS last night?  Was it pancreatic?  I have no idea and currently no labs to show it was anything at all, just abdominal pain.  It was a scary experience.  I just hope I wake up feeling much better.  This is getting old… really old.

Leave a Reply

